Movies That Inspired Me to Travel

Summer is about to begin, and what better way to celebrate than with some movies that could inspire your next getaway? Here are my top 6 movies that could do just that.

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

This is one of the first movies I saw that made me realize how much of the world there is that I want to see. The trailer makes it seem like it would be about office life, but has some of the most amazing visuals I have ever seen along with my favorite movie soundtrack of all time.

Watch the trailer here:

Eat Pray Love

When I sat down to watch this, I had no idea it would inspire me think about going to places like Delhi, Bali, and places I would not have thought of otherwise. I feel like this is a cult favorite amongst travelers and I can totally see why.

Watch the trailer here:

Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2

I realize that this choice seems completely out of place form the rest, but it was really the first movie that showed me how beautiful the islands of Greece are (plus her love interest Kostas was a bonus). I fulfilled the dream of going there and have this movie to thank for inspiring it.

Watch the trailer here:

The 100 Foot Journey

Hands down one of the cutest movies I have seen. More than anything, it made me excited to experience food from different cultures. It’s a perfect example of how food can bring people together and is such a feel-good kind of movie.

Watch the trailer here:

Grand Budapest Hotel

Looking at the dvd cover was enough for me to realize how badly I wanted to get out and see Europe (filmed in Germany and inspired by Prague), but I did have to give this one a second watch-through before really taking interest in it. The visuals were amazing and the storyline was more comedic than just focusing on traveling.

Watch the trailer here:

Notting Hill

The start of my love affair with England. Watching this one didn’t so much make me want to get out and backpack the world, but instead made me want to leave my life here behind and settle down in a tiny flat all by myself. Of course, Hugh Grant being a main character didn’t hurt either.

Watch the trailer here:

What movies inspire you to travel?

STAY UPDATED

Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram

 

7 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I love Eat Pray Love! Haven’t seen some of the films here, so I’m gonna have to check those out. Thanks for sharing! x

    Paper Hobbit | http://www.paperhobbit.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t actually watched any of these, but I really want to watch Notting Hill!
    Aleeha xXx
    http://www.halesaaw.com/

    Like

  3. Loved the Grand Budapest Hotel and The Hundred Foot Journey!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I just finished watching Eat Pray Love. That movie always makes me want to say so long to life in America for a life of passport living.

    Like

  5. This is a super fun list! I’m not much of a movie person, but you’ve piqued my interest in a couple movies. 🙂

    Like

  6. Yes yes yes! 100% with you on this! I haven’t actually seen the last 2 but I guess I have to now because you are so on point with the others. Sisterhood of the travelling pants is like my childhood movie memory hahaha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

