Your Guide to Barcelona

Last fall I had the pleasure of visiting Barcelona for a few days. I’ve compiled a list of all of my favorite restaurants, sites, markets, and other hidden treasures throughout the city, enjoy!

The Food:

Let’s be real with each other for a second, one of the best parts of visiting new places is experiencing new food. This city gave me many of the best meals I have ever consumed in my life and I am here to bestow my knowledge upon you. I mean, it would be selfish of me to not.

Brunch and Cake

This may very well be my favorite restaurant on the planet, and as a true foodie, that’s saying a lot. Their innovative ways of presenting dishes combined with their completely unique ingredient combinations makes for a wonderful meal, a great conversation piece, and hey, even a good Instagram if you’re into that. My sandwich came with a syringe full of guac, my eggs had flower petals on them, and the cheesecake comes in a flower pot, just be sure to go to Brunch & Cake and not their partner bakery Cup & Cake. I promise you, you won’t regret it.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

 

Lolita Barceloneta

Paella and sangria. That is all one really needs while in Spain and this waterfront spot delivered in both areas. After devouring a sizzling pan of seafood paella and two pitchers of sangrias between the three of us, we headed just next door to grab some gelato (well, we did that every day but who’s counting?).

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Rosa Negra

Alright, last food place, I promise! This is Spain’s answer to: “Wait, where’s the Mexican food?” a question I only thought through after hearing it out loud. The wait for this place was a direct correlation to how good the food was. We ordered some raspberry mojitos from the bar and downed a few plates of enchiladas immediately following. I wish so badly I had a picture to commemorate this meal, but sadly the memory of Rosa Negra lives on only in my mind…and stomach.

Sight Seeing:

Of course, there are places to see such as La Sagrada Familia, Las Ramblas (no matter where you wander you will ALWAYS somehow end up back here), the gothic quarter, and the beach, but I thought I’d share two of my favorite pit stops in the city.

Park Güell

I had no idea what this was aside from thinking, “where’s that mosaic tile place from The Cheetah Girls 2 at?”. Little did I know this was going to be an amazing lookout into the city of Barcelona. It may be touristy, but it’s #1 on my list of places to see.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Laberinto De Horta

This is definitely not a main attraction in my mind, but if you have several days to spend, I say give it a go. This park-meets-giant-garden has a hedge maze, beautiful waterfalls, and plenty trails for you to wander down.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Nightlife:

Let me tell you I had no idea how the Spanish partied until I had my first night out. Some of the most beautiful clubs I have ever seen line the beaches of Barça, it’s just up to you which one to pick. Here’s how my night played out:

Chupitos

Famous for their wall of hundreds of unique shots. We had ones lit on fire, ones you chased with a lollipop, and honestly anything else you could think of. They are all €2, don’t get you drunk, but are still completely worth it. My opinion…get the Harry Potter shot. so. good.

472b0775-d4de-4b33-91db-b3674d260af4

img_7114

Shoko

If anyone ever asked me what the craziest night of my life was, it would easily be the one spent here. Out of the three main clubs on the beach (Shoko, Opium and Pacha), I’d suggest going here. Definitely try to make your way into the VIP/bottle service area though, makes all the difference ;). They start partying at 2 am and don’t stop until the sun comes up. I really don’t think it’s as authentic of a Spanish experience without a little early morning clubbing, but to each their own!

img_7224img_7223

Did I miss anything? Let me know your favorite spots in the city or tell me where I should go next in the comments below! xx

STAY UPDATED

Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Barcelona is definitely on my list! Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

